Sep 14 2010

Create with Connie & Mary Preview Week 1

It's my turn to show you one of the projects I made for Create with Connie and Mary's Preview Week 1…this week we are featuring the stamp set Paisley Prints and Paisley Party Wheel!  I have a FREE downloadable Project Sheet over on Create for you to print and and use to make this project.  This is one of the NEW things we are doing this edition on Create with Connie and Mary to make it easier for you to duplicate our projects!  Remember, we are having an Early Bird Subscription Savings of $5 off the regular price of $39.95, so you can JOIN US now for $34.95 but only until Saturday, September 25 @ 11:55 PM ET.

 

 

I thought Stampin' Up!'s set, Paisley Prints, was so much fun because of the seasons it represented.  Seasons made me think of calendars…and I can ALWAYS use a calendar on my desk…especially a pretty, handmade one!  Wouldn't it make a nice gift for someone special?  I made this Easel Calendar from large size rectangular coasters (4 x 5 1/2) and the Top Note Die (isn't that the most useful die???)

You may notice that I didn't follow the traditional calendar quarters, I went with a more seasonal theme when designing the months.  (Of course, you COULD make a new coaster for every month…a total of six back to back)  However, I only did 2 coasters back to back for the 4 seasons!  I placed three months of the calendar together and held them with the Mini Library Clips.

Each of the seasonal coaster sides were covered with In-Color Patterns Designer Paper.  Then I cut a Top Note in the coordinating cardstock color.  I ran the Top Note thru the Big Shot again with the Square Lattice Impressions Folder.  What is fun about this is the easel part that helps the calendar stand on its own.  I didn't adhere the bottom of the Top Notes, so the 2 1/2 x 4" easel fits up underneath the Top Note on the inside decorated piece, that way it doesn't show from the front.  If you need to flip the calendar month, you slip out the easel, turn the calendar, slide the easel back in under the Top Note and you are ready to go.  See the side view picture for a visual of what I mean. 

 

The FREE downloadable Project Sheet over on Create with Connie and Mary has more detailed directions and a supply list.  Check it out!

 BLOG CANDY!   Check out the Create with Connie and Mary site every day and over the next two Preview weeks we will be telling you who to visit to have a chance to win…it won’t be every day…but we are giving away a total of 7 FREE subscriptions over the next 2 weeks.  If you check in every day on Create with Connie and Mary…you’ll be able to see who is doing the give away and be able to visit their blog!  And, while you are there, take a moment to subscribe to the Holiday Edition while the Early Bird Special savings is still going on!


36 People have left comments on this post

Sep 14, 2010 - 03:09:01
gayle said:

Connie, love the calendar. Thanks for a chance to win a free pass to Create with Connie and Mary.

Sep 14, 2010 - 03:09:12
Carey Rogers said:

I would love to win this.  I am the first one on this blog to put something in (I think).  It was a great series last year and I am sure it will be just as wonderful this year.
Rosocoe's mommy

Sep 14, 2010 - 06:09:02

Connie, this calendar is so cool!  Love how you used the paisley prints.  I knew I should have gotten that set.  Awesome design! 

Sep 14, 2010 - 08:09:03
Cathy Lathem said:

LOVE the calendar idea.  I have a big stack of those coasters.  But now you are making me want that Paisley Prints stamp set.  Thanks for the ideas.  You guys are so creative!

Sep 14, 2010 - 08:09:09
Lisa Cheney said:

What an awesome project.  Thanks so much for the oppurtunity to win .
I do hope it's me.  Thanks for all the inspiration.

Sep 14, 2010 - 08:09:18

These would make very cute little gifts!  I want to go make a calendar NOW!

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:17
Ginny Miller said:

This is so cute!  I especially love, love, love the easel idea.  You have inspired me to try my own calendar.  THANKS!
 

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:23
Cheryl said:

That is just way too cute!  I love it!  Thanks for always sharing your creativity!!  What an inspiration!!

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:16
Deborah said:

What a neat idea!  Thanks for the chance to win a free class!!  Blessings!

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:41
Jinny B said:

What a wonderful, creative project!  Do we get to see the rest of the months?
I definitely need that stamp set now!    Thank you for sharing the project.

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:27
Wendy Keirsey said:

Very cute!!   I LOVE the Daisies.  You are always thinking out of the box… 🙂

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:43

Love that calendar!  I make different calendars every year so I'm glad to have another style to add to my idea file.

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:56
Tracey Clay said:

Connie,  I Love it!!!  I appreciate your idea to match the seasons with the months!!!!  Just the right twist to make it fun!!!  Paisley Prints–love it!!!!

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:59
Barbara said:

Love this set and thought I had used it every way I could.  Thanks for the fresh ideas and thanks for doing CREATE!   Also keeping good thoughts for your son's new career!

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:40

What a fun project – now to find the rectangle coaster – I see a class coming for SURE!!!  

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:17
Carolyn Sharkas said:

Connie, I love this little calendar.  Such a great little gift. thanks so much for sharing.

ceashark at aol dot com

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:48
Kim Abbott said:

Very cute project!! Thanks for the opportunity to win! I would love it if I did!!

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:44

Connie…I have been stampin' and  demonstratin'  for over 10 years and am still amazed by the projects and cards you two come up with.  Thanks for all you do to promote the art and craft of stamping!  Love these calendars!

Sep 14, 2010 - 09:09:02

What a wonderful day and how amazing at all the talent I see out there! I am new to all this excitement and I feel like a kid in a candy store! It is a bit overwhelming but, I just can't seem to get enough! Thanks for sharing the cute calendar. :0)

Sep 14, 2010 - 10:09:08
Beth Grace said:

I love the coaster calendars, but they always seemed like so much work.  This is a great idea just doing 4 different ones!  I would love to win a free subscription to Create with Connie & Mary!! 

Sep 14, 2010 - 10:09:35
Toni Tessler said:

What a great idea to combine months Connie!  Love this calendar.
 
Toni Tessler

Sep 14, 2010 - 10:09:17
Martha Ludeking said:

Great project.  How fun to make and useful too!  Thanks for sharing the instructions too!  Can't wait for the class to start!

Sep 14, 2010 - 10:09:19

Love your calendar and the fact that it's a seasonal one – very pretty!  Thanks for sharing it!  Would love to win a free subscription to Create with Connie & Mary!

Sep 14, 2010 - 10:09:33
Julie Camell said:

Great calendar!  Love the paisley print –  I ordered a set yesterday – you've inspired me!  Can't wait for the class to begin!

Sep 14, 2010 - 11:09:37

Delightful project, Connie!  Thanks for sharing the tutorial it with us.  This will be such fun to make and use.  I would love to win a subscription to Create with Connie & Mary.

Sep 14, 2010 - 11:09:05
Linda Daley said:

I just love this calendar idea for a class project.  That set is so versitile and I really like how you used the top note die.
Thanks for all your inspiration!!

Sep 14, 2010 - 12:09:51

Thank you for another wonderful tutorial.  I loved the other Create with Connie class and would enjoy a chance to win one. Thankks for all.

Sep 14, 2010 - 12:09:11
Kathy Mc said:

 

What a clever calendar idea! You stampers are so very talented and love the inspiration. Would love to win a free pass!

Sep 14, 2010 - 12:09:06
Barbara Vogt said:

Love your twist on the calendars, Connie. Great project!

Sep 14, 2010 - 12:09:37
Chris Anderson said:

Awesome project! I so would love to win a subscription! Thanks for the free project tutorial and opportunity to win!
Chris   circusfam@sbcglobal.net

Sep 14, 2010 - 12:09:43

What a great looking calendar! Love your colors and design. This looks like great fun to make!

Sep 14, 2010 - 06:09:02
Sarah Miller said:

Thanks for the free download. I love the look of this calendar. Where do I find the coasters and calendars?

Sep 14, 2010 - 10:09:53
Libby S said:

Cute calendar.  What a creative waky to use this stamp.

Sep 14, 2010 - 10:09:06
Libby S said:

Cute calendar.  What a creative way to use this stamp.

Sep 15, 2010 - 01:09:03
Heather Arsenault said:

Very cool calendar! I have this set because of convention but haven't had any good ideas for it. You and Mary have shown me 2 great ideas this week. Thanks!

Sep 15, 2010 - 10:09:02
Chris R. from Iowa said:

Love your calendar with it's little mini library clip!  Now, I have an excuse to buy them!  I just have to try making one for myself first.  Then, friends????  Thanks for the inspiration!